Academic Achievements

Awards 2015

Well done to all those who recieved awards this year. 

Ciarán Campbell and Saoirse Larkin received The Keating Cup Award for each achieving 100% in the First Year Maths Exam.

TY Students of the Year- Deirdre Carroll and Leah Flannery

Banagher Pre-cast Scholarship- Aaron Daly & Ronan Hughes

Extra Curricular Student Award- Mark Boylan & Ann Daly

Construction Studies Award- Eoghan Flynn

Engineering Student Award- Stephen Dolan

Valerie Hayes Award- Ronan Butler

Overall Leaving Student of the Year Award with 615 points- Mary Ellen McMahon

Junior Cert Student Award- Sean Hanamy & Andrea Tesarova

The Repeat Class Student Award- Yvonne Ryan & Laura Healy

LCA Student Award- Evan Gannon

Leaving Cert Class Student Awards- Sarah Horan, Patrick Reddin, Grainne Dolan, Stephen Treacy, Daneille Gaughan, Sarah Williams, Ben Conneely, Dominika Szalasna, Emma Reilly, Siobhan Doorley, Ashton O'Rourke, Emma Treacy, Aine Kinsella, John Madden, Mark Birmingham


Click here to see photo album


High Achievements in the past few years

Banagher College, Colaiste Na Sionna enjoyed numerous high achievements during the past year. The following are some of the highlights:

Ag Science- Farming and Biodiversity

Congratulations to  Alanna Cahill, Aideen Kelly and Megan Mahony on winning two out of five of the national prizes in the Farming and Biodiversity poster competition.

Well done.

Thanks also to Ms. Hassett for her input.


Four Offaly students have been selected to be the county’s STEM Ambassadors and have received scholarships from the county board. The scholarship programme was established by the Offaly County Development Board to encourage more secondary school students to get involved in science and to pursue courses and careers in STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics).

The four ambassadors are:

  • Jordan Nash, Coláiste na Sionna
  • Sharon Boland, Coláiste Íosagáin, Portarlington
  • Eoin Delaney, Tullamore College
  • and Donnacha Carroll, St Brendan’s Community College, Birr.

They have since moved on to science courses at universities and ITs around the country.

Jordan Nash is now studying mechanical engineering in GMIT. Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths are very strongly promoted in Banagher College & we look forward to seeing more of our students choosing this career pathway.

Students Awarded 500 Points Plus in Leaving Cert 2011
Having achieved 550 points in her Leaving Certificate, Rhona Lynch was awarded the Corn Ui Mháille. Rhona is now completing her Honours Degree in Physiotherapy in UL.

A total of eight students scored in excess of 500 points in their Leaving Cert, congratulations to Shauna Cleary now studying English Literature and French in Trinity College, Muireann Windsor McGlynn who will study Pharmacy at The Royal College of Surgeons, Aislaigh Cahillane pursing an Arts Degree in NUI Maynooth, Michael Brophy studying Journalism-New Media in the University of Limerick,Stephen Quirke completing a Degree in PE and Geography in the University of Limerick, Sandra Kelly studying Science in Trinity College and Michelle Langtry who studying Arts in University College Cork.

Jordan Nash was awarded a STEM scholarship to NUI Maynooth studying Mechancial Engeering. This initiative promotes the study of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

Pat Camon was awarded a GAA Scholarship to Maynooth NUI, to study Arts.

Aishley Cahillane was awarded an Entrance Scholarship to NUI, Maynooth for achieving in excess of 500pts in her Leaving Cert. Aishley is now studying Arts.

Junior Certificate Student Award
In recognition of their excellent Junior Certificate results, Orlaith Lynch and Niamh McDonald were joint winners of this award.

Keating Cup
This cup was presented to the first year student who obtained the highest marks in Mathematics at the end of the year. With 100% this year the award went to a deserving candidate in Mary Ellen McMahon.

Gaisce Awards
Gaisce - the President’s Award is Ireland’s very own National Challenge Award, the country’s most prestigious and respected individual award programme, and a challenge from the President of Ireland. The following students received their Bronze Medals in 2011, Sean Bennett, Damien Brazil, Alan Camon, Paul Daly, Sean Dolan, Conor Dolan, Aine Donnelly, David Fogarty, Kate Grogan, Clare Keenaghan, Aisling Moloney, Verona McKeigue, Matthew Moloney, Brian O’Meara, Amie Poland, Diarmuid Shortt and Roisin Woods. Four students are currently working on their Silver Award.

Co. Offaly Student Enterprise 2011
Eammon Corcoran was the recipient of the first prize in the Junior Section of the Offaly Student Enterprise Awards. Eammon invented “piCubed”, a learning tool for students with learning difficulties.

Scifest 2011
Jermery Rigney won first place in the Junior Science (Individual) Section in this year’s “SciFest” Competition. A total of 2907 students participated.

Speech and Drama Awards
Ruth Fogarty, David Fogarty, Danielle Gaughan, Emmet Cox, Ciarra O’Sullivan and Jason Duffy, all won Silver Medals for obtaining over 95% in their Speech and Drama examination. These awards were granted by The Leinster School of Music and Drama.

Midlands Junior Cert High Achievers Recognised at AIT Awards
Mairead Daly and Niamh Flannery third year students had the distinction of achieving an “A” in the Business Studies examination last summer. Each student was presented with a parchment at the ceremony recording their excellent performance.

Sarah Horan was awarded a Gold medal for her outstanding art entry in the Mental Health Ireland Art Competition, “Design a Cover” entry. Aslo congratulations to the two school teams, who entered the National “Junk Koture” Competition and both reached the National Finals.

Congratulations to Tara Farrell, a sixth year student, for her magnificent article entered into Vogue Magazine competition. Her piece title “White Explosion” was chosen from almost 30,000 entries by budding journalists from Ireland and the UK. Tara secured a two week internship in Vogue Magazine.

The school team was awarded second place in County Offaly in the Pauline Curley Relay Marathon in March 2011 with an excellent time of 2hours and 13mins.

Banagher College Coláiste na Sionna were the Junior C Leinster Camogie Champions in 2011.

In the Leinster Athletics 2011 there was a very successful team in the U15, U16 teams who won a Gold medal.

Banagher College were the Overall Intermediate Section winners in the Co Offaly VEC Sports Day.

Katie Martin, Ashton , Imelda Minnock, Amy Finnegan, Sarah Williams and Ashton O’Rourke all finished in second place in the Tráth na gCeist Bord which was held in Ballinasloe as part of Seachtain na Gaeilge 2011.

Banagher Precast Concrete Ltd - Maths & Physics Awards
Alan Moylan a TY Year Student received an award for achieving the highest result in Science for his Junior Certificate. According to Forfas, the expert group on future skills needs, Science is one of the key areas where will have employment in the future.
Eoin Finnegan was presented with an award from Banagher Precast Concrete Ltd also, the award is for achieving the highest result in Physics in the school. Physics is a very important subject for any student considering a career in Engineering, Technology or Design.